Résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité

La résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (RCSNU) est un cadre juridique international historique qui traite du rôle central que les femmes jouent et devraient jouer dans la gestion des conflits, la résolution des conflits et la paix durable.

Télécharger la résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies 1325 (en français) ici

______________________________________________________________

Outil d’évaluation 1325 de l’OTAN

L’outil d’évaluation 1325 de l’OTAN est un outil de formation qui s’intéresse aux meilleures façons de renforcer la mise en œuvre de la résolution 1325 des Nations Unies sur les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, et de tirer des leçons de l’expérience des autres. La mise en contexte des résultats des indicateurs est déterminante à cet égard : elle aide les décideurs à trouver les manques à gagner dans les plans d’action nationaux et permet d’abolir les programmes redondants ou inefficaces qui entraînent des coûts inutiles. De plus, pour les pays membres et partenaires de l’OTAN, l’outil d’évaluation 1325 facilite la normalisation de la formation, du suivi de la mise en œuvre et de l’évaluation de la RCSUN 1325 dans un contexte d’opérations et de missions conduites par l’OTAN.

Cet outil a bénéficié d’une subvention du programme OTAN pour la science au service de la paix et de la sécurité (SPS) et il est géré par Femmes en sécurité internationale (FESI) et le Belgrade Centre for Security Policy (BCSP). Dans le cadre de ce projet, trois colloques ont été organisés pour rassembler les universitaires, les décideurs et les spécialistes des administrations civiles et militaires. Le premier colloque a eu lieu à Belgrade en mai 2014. Ce rassemblement a été l’occasion de recueillir des renseignements généraux et de partager les meilleures pratiques et les leçons apprises par rapport à la mise en œuvre de la RCSUN 1325 au sein des pays membres et partenaires de l’OTAN. Le deuxième colloque a eu lieu en septembre 2014 à Washington. Il a porté sur la comparaison des indicateurs et mécanismes d’évaluation existants, en s’intéressant particulièrement au développement de la méthodologie de l’outil d’évaluation. Lors du troisième colloque qui a eu lieu en 2015, à Bruxelles, l’outil d’évaluation 1325 de l’OTAN a été présenté au grand public.

Lire le rapport final sur l’outil d’évaluation 1325.

Pour en savoir plus sur le projet d’outil d’évaluation et consulter les outils d’évaluation nationaux, cliquez ici

______________________________________________________________

Le 8 mars marque la Journée internationale des femmes dans le monde entier. Cette journée souligne la réussite des femmes dans les domaines sociaux, économiques, culturels et politiques. La Journée internationale des femmes est née du mouvement ouvrier qui s’est déployé au tournant du vingtième siècle en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. C’est le 8 mars 1975, pendant l’Année internationale de la femme, que les Nations Unies ont souligné la première Journée internationale des femmes.

Or, les progrès ont ralenti dans plusieurs coins du monde, d’où la nécessité d’une action mondiale concertée pour accélérer l’atteinte de l’égalité des sexes. En 2016, des dirigeants du monde entier se sont engagés à devenir des défenseurs de l’égalité des sexes – pas seulement le 8 mars, mais chaque jour de l’année. Différents groupes et individus se sont également engagés à offrir leur soutien.

Cliquez ici pour voir les renseignements de l’ONU sur la Journée internationale des femmes.

La campagne de la Journée internationale des femmes vise à ce que les célébrations et les événements qui ont lieu partout dans le monde partagent les mêmes thèmes annuels.

Chaque année, dans le cadre de cette journée, FESI-Canada commandite des événements aux quatre coins du pays. Pour tout savoir, surveillez notre page Événements.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Un peu d’histoire

En 2011, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 66/170 qui décrète le 11 octobre comme étant la Journée internationale de la fille et reconnaît les droits des filles et les défis uniques auxquels elles font face dans le monde.

Cette journée sert à mettre en évidence, à étudier et à adopter des mesures concertées pour promouvoir l’égalité des droits et des chances pour les filles du monde entier. La discrimination fondée sur le sexe est l’une des formes de discrimination dont les enfants souffrent le plus.

Il est important que les garçons et les hommes s’investissent dans la création de sociétés égalitaires. La Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant et la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes sont les piliers fondamentaux du mandat et de la mission de l’UNICEF.

Les Nations Unies ont exhorté les acteurs internationaux (gouvernements, organismes des NU, société civile, institutions publiques et secteur privé) à réaffirmer leur engagement à mettre fin à la violence contre les adolescentes et à promouvoir leur autonomisation, par différents moyens :

  • Donner aux adolescentes des compétences, les aider à bâtir leur confiance en elles et leur offrir des perspectives de vie prometteuses
  • Rendre les infrastructures, les services et la technologie accessibles aux filles, les adapter pour répondre à leurs besoins opérationnels, de sécurité et de connectivité
  • Favoriser l’engagement dans la vie civique, économique et politique
  • Poursuivre la lutte contre la violence faite aux filles et aux femmes et prôner son intolérance dans les sphères publique et privée

Pour en savoir plus : http://dayofthegirl.org/

_____________________________________________________________________________

Violence sexiste

Joignez-vous à nous pour la campagne 16 jours d’activisme contre la violence fondée sur le sexe. FESI-Canada dirige les activités nationales de cette campagne internationale.

United Nations Security Council Resolution on Women, Peace and Security

UNSCR 1325 is a landmark international legal framework that addresses the pivotal role women should and do play in conflict management, conflict resolution and sustainable peace.

Download the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1325 (in English) here

Télécharger la résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies 1325 (en français) ici

 _______________________________________________________________________

1325 NATO Scorecard

The 1325 NATO Scorecard is intended as an educational tool focusing on how best to increase implementation of UN Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace and Security, and how to learn from the experiences of others. The contextualization of indicator results is key in this regard – it will assist policymakers in identifying shortfalls in existing NAPs and allow the elimination of NAP programs that are duplicative and/or ineffective and therefore lead to unnecessary costs. In addition, the 1325 NATO Scorecard facilitates standardization by NATO member and partner nations in training, implementation monitoring, and evaluation of UNSCR 1325 in the context of NATO-led missions and operations.

The 1325 Scorecard project was supported by a grant from the NATO Science for Peace Program (SPS) and is carried out by Women In International Security (WIIS) and the Belgrade Centre for Security Policy (BCSP). As part of this project, three workshops were organized to bring together academics, policy makers, and experts from military and civilian administrations. The first workshop was held in Belgrade in May 2014. It gathered basic information and exchanged best practices and lessons learned with respect to UNSCR 1325 implementation in NATO member and partner nations. The second workshop was held in September 2014 in Washington, DC. It contrasted and compared existing evaluation mechanisms and indicators and focused on the development of the Scorecard methodology. The third workshop was held in Brussels in 2015 where the 1325 NATO Scorecard was presented to a broad public.

Read the final report for the 1325 Scorecard project.

Learn more about the Scorecard project, and read the national scorecards here

 ____________________________________________________________________________

Each year on March 8, International Women’s Day is recognised around the world, to celebrate the social, economic, cultural and political achievement of women. International Women's Day first emerged from the activities of labour movements at the turn of the twentieth century in North America and across Europe. In 1975, during International Women's Year, the United Nations began celebrating International Women's Day on 8 March.

Yet progress has slowed in many places across the world, so global action is needed to accelerate gender parity. In 2016 leaders across the world pledged to take action as champions of gender parity  - not only for International Women's Day, but for every day.  Groups and individuals also pledged their support.

You can find information from the UN on International Women’s Day here.

The International Women’s Day Campaign aims to centralise celebrations and events around the world around annual themes.

Each year, WIIS-Canada co-sponsors events around the country for International Women’s Day. Keep an eye out on our Events page.

__________________________________________________________________________________

Screen Shot 2014-10-11 at 9.53.05 AM

 

 

 

 

Background

In 2011, the United Nations General Assembly adopted Resolution 66/170, declaring October 11th as the International Day of the Girl Child, to recognize girls’ rights and the unique challenges girls face around the world.

It’s a day to emphasize, examine, and enact action to advance equal rights and opportunities for girls worldwide. Gender-based discrimination is one of the most ubiquitous forms of discrimination that children face.

It is important to engage boys and men along the path towards more gender-equal societies. The Convention on the Rights of the Child and the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women are the main underpinnings of UNICEF’s mandate and mission.

The UN has called upon global actors (governments, UN agencies, civil society, and public and private institutions) to reassert their commitment to end the violence against adolescent girls, and to promote their empowerment by:

  • Investing in adolescent girls to equip them with skills, confidence, and life options
  • Making infrastructure, services, and technology accessible to girls and effective in meeting their needs for safety, connectivity and agency
  • Facilitating engagement in civic, economic and political life
  • Continuing to advocate for making violence against girls and women visible and unacceptable both in private and public domains

Read more at: http://dayofthegirl.org/

_____________________________________________________________________________

Gender Based Violence

Join us for the annual 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence. WIIS-Canada spearheads the national campaign for the international initiative.

Did you know:

Final Slider 1

Final Slider 2

Final Slider 4 Final Slider 6 Final Slider 9 Final Slider 11 Final Slider 13

 _______________________________________________________________________

Special Rapporteur for Violence Against Women

View Website

 

______________________________________________________________________________

Montreal Massacre

In 2014, we mark the 25th anniversary of the devastating murders of the Montreal Massacre which occurred on December 6th, 1989. On this day of mourning, we pay tribute to those 14 women murdered at the École Polytechnique, in this targeted act of gender-based violence.

It is important that we recognize this National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women in Canada, to unite in the fight to end gender-based violence in our country and around the world.

In Ottawa, a vigil is held annually on December 6th at the Ottawa Women’s Monument in Minto Park to honour the women who lost their lives due to acts of violence against women.

This day is internationally recognized as a day of remembrance and mourning. All will be welcomed to join the movement by raising awareness, attending the vigil, and standing in solidarity with others in the movement, to show intolerance to violence against women.

______________________________________________________________________________

Shine the Light

In Ottawa, Shine the Light (STL) is a campaign of the Ottawa Coalition to End Violence Against Women (OCTEVAW) that aims to bring community awareness to violence against women and girls by turning the city purple.

Shine the Light is about engaging people in breaking the silence on violence against women. It encourages community members to build their awareness, and speak out against violence against women.

It is an initiative that first began in London, Ontario and is going into its third year in Ottawa. The Ottawa campaign engages with local businesses, the police, and the City on Elgin Street to showcase the colour purple through light bulbs, posters, ribbons and window decals.

The campaign occurs in November, which is “Women Abuse Prevention Month” in Ontario.

November 25th marks the beginning of the 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence campaign.

Shine the Light begins on November 25th and concludes on December 6th to coincide with the Vigil at the Women’s Monument in Minto Park, organized by the Women's Event Network.